Writing

Writing: My Tools of The Trade

Every person who aspires to follow writing needs to have a set routine and tools in order to effectively address their craft. I realized this quickly when I decided to give writing a go. You need to have a set of tools that are there and minimize your learning curve while maximizing your ability to put word to keyboard. Here are the tools that I personally use at the moment along with the software/apps I use:

When I’m away from home, I use  an iPad, a bluetooth keyboard, iAwriter as a writing program linked via Dropbox to Scrivener, and WordPress.com.

At home, I have a simple setup, I only use a 17” MacBook Pro and Scrivener.

Every person who aspires to follow writing needs to have a set routine and tools in order to effectively address their craft. I realized this quickly when I decided to give writing a go. You need to have a set of tools that are there and minimize your learning curve while maximizing your ability to put word to keyboard. Here are the tools that I personally use at the moment along with the software/apps I use:

When I’m away from home, I use  an iPad, a bluetooth keyboard, iAwriter as a writing program linked via Dropbox to Scrivener, and WordPress.com.

At home, I have a simple setup, I only use a 17” MacBook Pro and Scrivener.

Scrivener software screenshot

Credit: Literature and Latté

  • Away from home:
    • When I’m away from home at the fulltime job, the need to have tools that are small and portable is paramount. The tools I have listed for when I’m not at home (iPad, bluetooth keyboard, iAwriter/Scrivener, WordPress.com) reflects this need.
    • The iPad’s size, portability and compatibility with a multitude of writing apps sealed the deal for me. When you combine that with a bluetooth keyboard, you have a writing system to go!
    • IAWriter is the writing program of choise for me when I’m away from home because of its simple blank screen. This blank screen allows me to focus on the writing and minimizes the potential distractions around me. It’s ability to access Dropbox and text files helps when I’m working on my novels or blogs with Scrivener (I’ll explain that in a moment).
    • WordPress.com is where my blog is at the moment, though I plan on moving soon. It’s there so that I can upload my writing wherever I am
  • At home:
    • When I’m at home, portability and convenience is not so much of an issue. I don’t need the small screen space of the iPad, and can work with leisure with larger screen real estate.
    • The macbook pro that I use is a powerhouse when it comes to writing. With 17” of screen space for me to work on, it allows you a greater overall view of your writing and chapters, and the larger keyboard puts less strain on your wrist. Having bought this mbp back in 2008, the notebook is close to the end of its life, so I’ll probably replace it fairly soon with a newer macbook air. The Macbook air can do do everything the larger macbook can and weighs less.
    • Scrivener. GET IT. In my opinion there is no better writing software available on the market today (The only exception being the uber-powerhouse WORD). I would invest in Scrivener for the iPad, but it hasn’t come out yet. In the meantime this is what I’ve done:
      • Scrivener allows you to sync with an online folder (dropbox for example) and sync and edit text files to it. A simple text editor or rich text editor such as iAwriter can then modify the text, and voila! You can now write with an ipad away from home.

This is currently the set up that I have and use at the moment for writing. There are a few weaknesses that I see in it (the evernote conversion issue with html for example), but at the same time it’s the best one that I can come up with for my situation. I’m definitely open to learning more and hopefully can improve upon this set up in the future.

A lot of my inspiration for this set up actually came from Michael Hyatt and Thaddeus Hunt. Here are the links I’m referring to:

Michael Hyatt’s use of Scrivener for Blogging

Writing: Scrivener As A Complete Blogging System

[Discussion Question]

What setup do you use for writing?

  • Away from home:
    • When I’m away from home at the fulltime job, the need to have tools that are small and portable is paramount. The tools I have listed for when I’m not at home (iPad, bluetooth keyboard, iAwriter/Scrivener, WordPress.com) reflects this need.
    • The iPad’s size, portability and compatibility with a multitude of writing apps sealed the deal for me. When you combine that with a bluetooth keyboard, you have a writing system to go!
    • IAWriter is the writing program of choise for me when I’m away from home because of its simple blank screen. This blank screen allows me to focus on the writing and minimizes the potential distractions around me. It’s ability to access Dropbox and text files helps when I’m working on my novels or blogs with Scrivener (I’ll explain that in a moment).
    • WordPress.com is where my blog is at the moment, though I plan on moving soon. It’s there so that I can upload my writing wherever I am
  • At home:
    • When I’m at home, portability and convenience is not so much of an issue. I don’t need the small screen space of the iPad, and can work with leisure with larger screen real estate.
    • The macbook pro that I use is a powerhouse when it comes to writing. With 17” of screen space for me to work on, it allows you a greater overall view of your writing and chapters, and the larger keyboard puts less strain on your wrist. Having bought this mbp back in 2008, the notebook is close to the end of its life, so I’ll probably replace it fairly soon with a newer macbook air. The Macbook air can do do everything the larger macbook can and weighs less.
    • Scrivener. GET IT. In my opinion there is no better writing software available on the market today (The only exception being the uber-powerhouse WORD). I would invest in Scrivener for the iPad, but it hasn’t come out yet. In the meantime this is what I’ve done:
      • Scrivener allows you to sync with an online folder (dropbox for example) and sync and edit text files to it. A simple text editor or rich text editor such as iAwriter can then modify the text, and voila! You can now write with an ipad away from home.

This is currently the set up that I have and use at the moment for writing. There are a few weaknesses that I see in it (the evernote conversion issue with html for example), but at the same time it’s the best one that I can come up with for my situation. I’m definitely open to learning more and hopefully can improve upon this set up in the future.

A lot of my inspiration for this set up actually came from Michael Hyatt and Thaddeus Hunt. Here are the links I’m referring to:

Michael Hyatt’s use of Scrivener for Blogging

Writing: Scrivener As A Complete Blogging System

[Discussion Question]

What setup do you use for writing?

Standard

2 thoughts on “Writing: My Tools of The Trade

    • That’s very nice! At the moment I’ve modified my setup since then and am focusing more on Evernote as opposed to iawriter. Evernote’s advantage to iawriter is the ability you have to format your text and insert images.

Leave a Reply

